Posted by admin on January 22, 2021
Lionel Messi‘s appeal as regards his two-match ban for striking an opponent in the Super Cup final has been rejected after the Spanish FA.
Barcelona FC made the bid to have the suspension dismissed despite footage showing Messi lashing out at Athletic Bilbao’s Asier Villalibre in the final moments of the 3-2 final defeat.
The suspension means Messi will now miss Barcelona’s LaLiga clash with Elche on Sunday, having already served the first part of the ban by sitting out Thursday’s win over Cornella in the Copa del Rey.
Messi’s sending off at the weekend was his first red card of his Barcelona career, and will miss the club’s important league clash at the weekend.
Referee Gil Manzano said in his match report that Messi hit his opponent with ‘excessive force’ while the ball was not near him.
This post was first published on GoalBall.
Copyright © 2019 - | Soccer Only